Olds 307 timing chain

Search this Thread

Old June 22nd, 2012, 10:53 AM

Olds 307 timing chain

Hello All,

It's my first time posting on the forums but I've been reading around since I got my '83 Buick Lesabre with Olds 307 motor. It's got 152xxx miles on it and still runs pretty good! The car needed a tune up when I got it and so far I've done:

Flushed and refilled Radiator
Changed oil and filter
New canister filter, fuel filter, air filter and Pcv filter
New pcv valve
New smog pump air injection tubes
new distrubutor cap and rotor, new wires and new plugs

and the like i said, the engine isnt in too bad of shape. After reading around the forums I see that these engines usually need new timing chains before they hit 100xxx miles, considering myself very lucky and not wanting to push it anymore I've decided i will replace the chain before I have any run ins with problems. This is just to be safe rather then sorry, I know the original owner did not replace it. While I'm at it I will replace the water and fuel pumps as well since they are there. I have the repair manual and seen a few threads on here that give me an idea on what I'm in for.. I'm ordering the parts today and just have a few questions.

I just need to get the timing set and gasket correct? Are there any other parts i should buy? Any other advice on tackling the job are also appreciated, I'm beginning the work next weekend.
Old June 22nd, 2012, 11:24 AM
Administrator

It's not hard, I would also recommend replacing your water pum at the same time since it has to be removed! There are many, many, and I mean many threads on here about doing your timing chain.
Old June 22nd, 2012, 02:55 PM