oil leak?!?!

Search this Thread

Old August 19th, 2011, 07:11 AM

oil leak?!?!

Good morning people. I own a 72 olds cutlass supreme 350 sbo 4bl. Its my daily driver and last week I noticed a few drops of oil around the oil pan gasket. I went under and tightened the screws around the pan and noticed the gasket spreading. So surley I need to replace. Not my question is how can I tell if the rear main seal is leaking? The leak has began to leak more and im wondering what caused the leak (gasket failed, engine ran hot). Im a novice mechanic and need all the help I can get. Thanks yall
Old August 19th, 2011, 07:18 AM

Has the engine ever been rebuilt? If so, who did it?

Not gonna lie, sometimes i see a couple drops of oil around my oil pan.

Rather than looking at the glass half empty, i consider it free rust protection.

-Tony
Old August 19th, 2011, 07:27 AM

Originally Posted by Tony72Cutlass'S'
Has the engine ever been rebuilt? If so, who did it?

Not gonna lie, sometimes i see a couple drops of oil around my oil pan.

Rather than looking at the glass half empty, i consider it free rust protection.

-Tony
My grandfather and I rebuilt it in 2001. He was one of them old dudes that had knowledge for days. Miss him now more than ever. He worked his entire life rebuilding engines from gasoline to deisel and its has been running strong since the build.

Man thats funny ! I usually dont let a lil oil scare me but its been hot as satans underpants down here and the leak is getting worse. Im sure the gasket is falling apart for a quarter turn pushed the gasket apart.. Just wanna find out how to tell if the rear main seal is leaking. I can tell from just looking from underneath , but there is a bead of oil in the area outside the seal..

thanks for the support
Old August 19th, 2011, 07:37 AM

Hmmmmmm, i believe the original seal was a rope seal correct? If so did you guys change it to a better one when you rebuilt the engine?