oil cooler ?????

Search this Thread

Old August 10th, 2011, 04:37 PM
Chevy budget Olds powered

oil cooler ?????

ok guys the current motor im running is a 350. when i built the bottom end i intended it to be rebuilt this up coming winter., as i just polished the journals and installed std. bearings. i have been driving this motor for 5 months no problems the oil psi bounces in idle under load between 20-25 a little but my tolerances where in the loose side so i knew that was the issue and its a rough idle i might add in drive i usually pop it in neautral and its steady but today i drove it to work and it was about 60 degrees engine temps never went past 175. the oil pressure never bounced im thinking when the oil gets hot usually around 190 it gets thin enough to affect my oil psi. my question is should i get a an oil cooler, higher flowing water pump or go back to stock pulley to speed up the h20 pump i currently have a stock one i found lying around that worked . i might add this motor makes no noises and im planning on rebuilding another shortblock this winter and keeping this one as a back up. i also run 15w40 rotella with lucas oil stabalizer and a zddp addivitve overkill maybe but id rather safe than sorry. i think my oil is just getting too hot along with my motor running a tad bit hot at stop lights . any ideas and cheap ones i might add lol will greatly be appreciated
Old August 11th, 2011, 04:01 AM
'87 Delta 88 Royale

Olds 350 diesels ran an engine oil intercooler (similar to a trans cooler), maybe you could source one and use that.
Roger.
Old August 11th, 2011, 09:01 AM

Get the engine cooling under control also.
Old August 11th, 2011, 03:44 PM
Administrator

What your describing is normal for what you have! Yes the oil will be thinner at operating temps of around 190. Your pressure seems fine! Yor rough idle is not caused by your bottom end rebuild, its a charactoristic of a bad tune! I would go back and retune it so it runs smooth at idle!