Need help tuning 73 olds 350

Search this Thread

Old November 10th, 2014, 04:00 PM

Need help tuning 73 olds 350

Needing to start from square 1.
I have a 73 olds 350 with edelbrock performer intake, non ccc hei with vac advance holley 4 barrel 600 cfm. needing help dialing it all in. seems it doesn't have much power. I am new to olds and not real familiar with timing so would appreciate all advice and patients. thanks
Old November 10th, 2014, 04:34 PM
Out of Line, Everytime😉

Buy or borrow a dial back timing light. Try setting your base timing at 20 to start, rev the engine with the vacuum advance disconnected. You want 36-38 total in by around 3000 rpm. You may need lighter springs to achieve full timing by 3000 rpm. The carb is tougher, read the plugs to start.
Old November 10th, 2014, 04:47 PM
Administrator

Read this ( these principles are the same for all v8's):

http://www.corvette-restoration.com/.../Timing101.pdf

and this:

http://www.badasscars.com/index.cfm/...d=76/prd76.htm

This is pretty good reading and pretty informative:

http://oldsjunction.classicoldsmobil...n.htm#Ignition
Old November 10th, 2014, 04:56 PM

thank you for replying

Okay I will work on getting the dial back. what I have done so far is,