How is STP Additive Doing These Days?

Search this Thread

Old September 24th, 2009, 11:41 PM

How is STP Additive Doing These Days?

When I was a kid, my Dad didn't have an oil change or go anywhere without adding STP to his car engine. I guess I should keep in mind he was'nt a mechanic by trade, but he was a master machinist and knew all about metals and seemed to know a lot about cars. I don't hear much about STP anymore, and don't know how it stacks up against the newer additives - but it is still on the shelves.

Is STP still an additive of choice and why would you use it over another additive?
Old September 25th, 2009, 12:40 AM
Registered

I don't use any additives, plenty of stuff in the oil already it seems, I just change it often.
I think STP is still mostly oil of some type, a lot of those new super additives contain a lot of chlorine bleach, funny that Clorox owns STP?

The last time I used STP was in my '64 Chebby back in high school. It got a little cold out and the oil was so thick it looked like molasses and the starter wouldn't even think of turning that engine over. It was stuck on the street for days until my dad got his torch out and heated the pan up to thin the oil enough to crank it, it couldn't of done that engine much good when it started.
I wouldn't use it in the winter.
Old September 25th, 2009, 06:07 AM

I use E.O.S. (engine oil supplement) from the dealer for an additive in my GM cars,the 63 394 engines have a ticking noise and after adding one can it magically goes away.I add a can at every oil change and use it in my 02 Bravada as well.
STP replaces some of the additives that burn off over time but the viscosity of your oil will change making it thicker or heavier.For the extra few bucks I would suggest the E.O.S. instead.
Steve
Old September 25th, 2009, 06:21 AM
Seasoned beater pilot.

Funny story.