Exhaust Question: Flowmaster? Magnaflow?

Search this Thread

Old February 21st, 2007, 03:52 PM

Exhaust Question: Flowmaster? Magnaflow?

Hey guys, I recently just bought a '72 Cutlass S, that was completely redone, but the exhaust system isn't a flowmasters or maganflow. Just stock, and while it sounds good, I'm wondering if Flowmasters would sound better? My guess would be yes, but I'm not really experienced with exhaust systems. However, the car has been perfect thus far, no problems. Would a new exhaust system affect any other part of the car for any particular reason that you know of? I spent a pretty penny on this car, and I would hate to see me cause problems by paying $250-350 for a better sounding exhaust system in. Thanks, Mike.
Old February 21st, 2007, 03:58 PM

A flowmaster system would not only sound better, but it increases performance. I had Flowmasters on a different car and it made a big difference. Buy the kit from Year One or OPGI and do it yourself....it's easy.
Old February 21st, 2007, 04:27 PM

thank you for responding so quickly. Roughly how much horse power do you think a flowmaster exhaust would add? Like 10-20 or so?
Old February 21st, 2007, 06:27 PM

I've seen tests that show up to 30 extra HP....although I wouldn't count on it. The general rule is that if you can feel it "by the seat of your pants" it's about 10 to 15.

Also, the Flowmaster exhaust with headers will make an even bigger improvement.
Old February 21st, 2007, 06:38 PM

On a V8 look looking at about 10 hp increase, if you throw headers in the mix, you could be looking at around 20 to 30 more horses.

Flowmaster is better. Since it's chambered, it will give a little bit of backpressure and increase HP, the magnaflow is a stright-thru and hp numbers will drop.

I myself proved this. With a straight-thru on my Alero, the car ran 15.6 in the 1/4 mile, with a flowmaster 80 and a little bit hotter of a day, it ran 15.2
Old February 21st, 2007, 10:11 PM