exhaust manifolds explained?

Search this Thread

Old January 15th, 2008, 04:59 PM

exhaust manifolds explained?

Hi everyone
I have a 68 cutlass s with a 350 in it single exhaust. I'd like to start tracking down parts to convert it to dual exhaust. Can some one explain manifolds? I have found a pair of x y? close to home but not sure what that means! If I understand correctly I can just use my current manifolds remove the y pipe that joins the two into one and run straight from each side? I've read that the x y have the wanted crossover for better exhaust flow? Will the x y's fit my small block?

Any light on the subject appreciated

Thanks
cola
Old January 15th, 2008, 06:18 PM

Small Block Dual Exhaust Manifolds

I'm not an expert, but I don't think they'll fit. Those are the dual exhaust big block manifolds for 1968. If the price is right, you might snag them for trade stock though as there is good demand for them. I think your only option is to remove the crossover pipe and weld up a block off plate. You can keep a few inches of the crossover pipe and either pinch it off and weld it or make a disc to put in the opening and weld it on. I'm pretty sure that's the only dual exhaust option for small blocks with cast iron manifolds. John
Old January 16th, 2008, 05:48 AM
Past Administrator

Exhaust port spacing is identical between small block and big block heads, technically they would fit the heads, whether they would fit without interference on a small block in your Cutlass is a question I can't answer. The x and y manifolds don't have a crossover, they are each individual and are designed for big block heads, and are supposedly more desired by collectors and engine builders.
Old January 16th, 2008, 11:22 AM

Big block exhaust manifolds will NOT fit ...the Pass. side will have clearance issues with the Oil Filter housing...Olds did not make a " true " dual manifold for the 350, so cap the crossover and you will be fine.

Danny
Old January 16th, 2008, 02:30 PM