403 Olds in a 77 Buick Electa overheating

Search this Thread

Old July 20th, 2013, 01:27 PM

403 Olds in a 77 Buick Electa overheating

I'm back again to pick some brains. My 403 is overheating. First the story of how it all started. In July 2011, the chain went and I had a "reputable" garage install a new one. I've been driving the car almost everyday since Nov 2010. Before the chain was replaced, the car ran great except for the sloppy chain. After it was installed, the car overheated the very next day. It boiled out! My thinking at the time maybe there was air in the system. I filled it back up and had no problems until August 2012. We were on our way to Harrisburg, Pa from Johnstown, Pa for a family reunion. The car overheated in Shippensburg. I let the car cool, filled it back up and the rest of the trip was uneventful. When we got back, I back washed the cooling system and refilled it. Then on July 3rd, 2013 we made a trip to pick up a small trailer. We got about 20 miles when the idiot light came on. Before I could find a safe place to pull over the lower hose blew up! I'll post a pic is I can. It scared the crap out of both of us, it was that loud! I phoned a friend to bring a new hose and coolant. We didn't get 5 miles before the light came on again. We had to have the car and trailer towed from the highway. That hurt $$$.
Now, what I did to try to fix the problem.
The water pump is new (not a reman) and was replaced when the chain was done. I installed a new HD clutch fan, thermostat OEM temp, all new hoses, belts, oil change and all the filters.