350 rebuild kit

Search this Thread

Old January 6th, 2015, 04:02 AM

350 rebuild kit

looking to possibly refresh my little 350 in my 72' while the body is off the frame. i still have not decided, as the car started with very little effort and ran great after sitting for 4 years. but now is the best time, and if i do some i want to add a little bit of power while im at it, but not wanting to drop a lot into the motor as the rest of the project is taking its toll on the budget. i am looking at these 2 kits, and was looking for some input, also input if working the factory heads is worth much. a buddy of mine owns a race shop in San Antonio, Kotzur racing, and does amazing work and i am half tempted to take them down to him

http://www.ebay.com/itm/PERFORMANCE-...64751690&rt=nc

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Olds-Oldsmob...99070229&rt=nc
Old January 6th, 2015, 05:39 AM

Amazing work

I am a veteran of that "amazing work". To their credit they did make an attempt to straighten it up but it took four years. In San Antone one is hard pressed to find anyone to do anything right so keep your eyeballs wide open. Millers over on Grissom or T and P on Guadalupe appear to turn out a consistent product. Those two shops are familiar with Oldsmobile and I can not emphasize how critical that factor is.
Old January 6th, 2015, 07:09 AM

That first kit doesn't look to be for an Olds block
Old January 6th, 2015, 08:37 AM

Originally Posted by Professur
That first kit doesn't look to be for an Olds block
yup, just noticed that myself. so these heads are a bit tricky? hes very experienced with fords as well as cummins motors. and had nothing good to say when i called him and told him about the rocket motor build

so for now i may forgo building the heads, and just rebuild to stock minus a nice cam
Old January 6th, 2015, 02:38 PM
Administrator