350 oil pressure. (newb questions)

Search this Thread

Old April 21st, 2012, 04:58 PM

350 oil pressure. (newb questions)

Hey guys, new here and hope im posting this in the right place. Anyways, I recently bought a 1970 cutlass 350. The car runs great with no issues but i was just wondering about temp and oil pressure..

At a cold start the cars oil sits around 6 or 7, at about 1600 its around 17..

and i havet gone far but the motor seems to stay around 145 degrees

Dose this sound about normal?
sorry if this is a total newb question, but you got to start somewhere!

Thank you!
Old April 21st, 2012, 05:26 PM

Sounds to me like your guages are not working properly. If they are electric guages, get mechanical ones. If they are mechanical and you are reading them correctly, I think you have a problem looming with that oil pressue.
Keep us posted---we will try to "steer" you in the right direction.
Old April 21st, 2012, 05:45 PM

Originally Posted by Dave Siltman
Sounds to me like your guages are not working properly. If they are electric guages, get mechanical ones. If they are mechanical and you are reading them correctly, I think you have a problem looming with that oil pressue.
Keep us posted---we will try to "steer" you in the right direction.
Thank you, the gauges are nice but i just dont know how good they really are.. the car runs solid, i know its full of oil so i dont know ill look into it
Old April 21st, 2012, 09:52 PM
Banned

Who makes the gauges?

Is the oil gauge mechanical or electric ?

Water temp sounds great.

Just don't go revving the engine, drive it like grandma would.

What oil filter is on the engine? If it is a Orange Fram, change to a Napa Gold filter.

Put some good 20w50 oil in the engine and see if that helps oil pressure.

Don't drive over 60 mph for any periods of time until you can figure out if you have low oil pressure or inaccurate gauges.
Old April 22nd, 2012, 05:46 AM
Administrator