Respirators

Search this Thread

Old November 7th, 2014, 10:47 AM

Respirators

Ok a couple of paint questions I am putting my quarters on, and want to be able to shoot some primer on after the welding, I want to spray inside my garage ( just the primer) and just enough so I can move on to the next body repairs, I was told the ppg epoxy primer was best but doesn't that require an air fed system for respiration? is there a good primer I can use that I do not need an air fed system for, or do I just bite the bullit and buy the hobby air or similar? all ears..

Old November 7th, 2014, 11:07 AM

I am no expert here but the primer needs to be compatable with paint intended to use. I use Duplicolor primer sold at Advance Auto mixed with their reducer as primer for lacquer and just use a regular higher quality mask over my nose and mouth.
Old November 7th, 2014, 11:32 AM

Thanks..

Joe , Thank you , appreciated, I hear you but I wanted to upgrade the paint system, I am familiar and comfortable painting lacquer, but I wanted to avoid the future pitfalls ( I think we discussed types before in a previous thread) Lacquer is a nice system but it doesn't offer the same roadability as the newer systems do, and I plan on driving `this beast. I was thinking going with an epoxy primer, but I do not have a booth or a fresh air system I think I figured a way for the booth using a harbor freight portable garage
I'll add some ventilation etc but I am brain damaged enough, and wanted to primer what I have done ie right quarter, left quarter etc as I go, then when I am ready shoot and seal the whole thing... then work on paint.

I do hear you and lacquer was my first choice, but I have come this far ....

eddie
Old November 7th, 2014, 11:45 AM