The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

what to do....

Search this Thread

Old March 11th, 2014, 08:35 PM

what to do....

Hello 1st and foremost...I am brand new to this kind of car forum as I have been over seas for the last 24 years... I just today came across 2 1957 2 door Super 88 models and a 4 door... one of the 2 doors has sat since 67...the 4 door since 67...the other one has sat since 68...I spoke to the 2nd owner of all 3 of these... he told me he bought them up in Montana for 500 a piece and wants 10 grand now for all 3 of them...is this a good price to pay...all have sat in open weather... all trim is present as is what he says are the original motors still in them...any and all thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated .
Old March 11th, 2014, 09:15 PM
Administrator

Welcome, it depends on your skill level and wallet. It takes a lot to resurrect something that's been sitting since 67 or 68.
Old March 12th, 2014, 06:36 AM

Originally Posted by glennmike
I am brand new to this kind of car forum as I have been over seas for the last 24 years
Why should this have stopped you? As I understand it, they have internet all over the world.

In fact, there are a fair number of people on here from Europe, Australia, New Zealand, and others. Being "overseas" doesn't stop them.

As far as answering your question. $10,000 for three '50s-era Oldsmobiles might be reasonable, but do you want to buy all three? Will he sell them separately? It's hard to say a whole lot about value with seeing some photos and getting a better idea of condition. Your "all have sat in open weather" comment is ominous. For how long? You say they have "sat" since the late '60s. Have they been outside the whole time? Do any of them run?

Last edited by jaunty75; March 12th, 2014 at 06:39 AM.
Old March 12th, 2014, 06:44 AM
Connoisseur d'Junque