The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Western Mass newbie

Search this Thread

Old September 21st, 2015 | 04:30 PM

Western Mass newbie

Hello folks,

I'm a newbie to the forum and have been working on, off, on, off, and on my 64 Olds F85 now for about 6-7 years. It's been so long I cannot even remember! Life, work, family seem to eat up a lot of time. If I had this car back in high school it would have been on the road in much less time (well, as quickly as my part time times would allow!).

So I have a two-door F85 that I purchased as a project. It has been a MA car it's whole life...not exactly conducive to rest prevention. I purchased her from the second owner, who had her for over ten years. It did have the 330 engine and two speed jetaway, along with bucket seats. I would love to tell you that I had a sedan/post/coupe/holiday coupe but truthfully I'm confused. I call her a "post" as I have full window frames on the front, a separate post between front and rear glass. What say the experts?

Well she had new floors and trunk when I got her. And ran. Sort of. She made it 15 miles home. But she had the death rattle from the get-go. Pretty much everything else was rotted out too. And you know how it goes, you start to take one thing off, then the next and before you know it the car is in so many pieces you can't tell it's a car anymore. But I managed to do my version of a frame off---actually a frame lowered/body raised on jack stands job in my garage. What I can tell you is that she has all new body bushings, new rear control arms and bushings, new front disc/power brake conversion with rebuilt drums out back, all new brake lines, fuel lines and tank, and a PST front end kit. I replaced all the front components. I also blasted and painted the control arms, new shocks, and new springs front/rear.