The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Oil and fuel for my 1951 Olds

Search this Thread

Old May 12th, 2019, 06:49 PM

Oil and fuel for my 1951 Olds

Distracted newbie here from Houston, I have not been on your site for some time as I have too many irons in the fire.
My most basic question:
What is the best oil and fuel for this engine? According to the manual SAE30, but I presume that we have better stuff for an old engine now. There is a long thread on Valvoline VR1 20W-50 with its added zinc and dozens of posts about various fuel additives and octane boosters - Marvel Mystery Oil, Red Line 60202, Rotella and Lucas Upper Cylinder Lubrication and Fuel Conditioner. I know there are lots of opinions and no hard science on one additive over another, so perhaps advice on what NOT to do to hurt my engine is what I am asking for

Five of my favourite and most demanding women
. I am presently using premium fuel with the previous owner's CD-2 lead substitute; I have a buddy who uses Octane Supreme with lots of real lead. I have not yet done my first oil change - it is a clear gold on the dipstick so I have not been in a hurry. That's all for now; thank you!
Andrew
Old May 12th, 2019, 07:02 PM
Proud Viet Nam Veteran

Great picture. I use Valvoline 10W30 VR1 Racing Oil in my 54. I use 89 Octane gas and add Sta-Bil for the ethanol. In my opinion you don't need premium fuel or octane boosters. Keep in mind the engine probably has a compression ratio of 8.5 to 1. I did run 87 octane once and it pinged but runs fine on 89 octane. Unless you are running at high RPM for sustained periods you will probably never burn a valve seat. That is my 2 cents.
Old May 12th, 2019, 07:12 PM

Thanks, Red; I have even been to Rowlett many moons ago......... I see the annual Olds convention is in your part of the woods in 2 weeks - unfortunately I will not be able to make it.
Andrew