The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Excited but overwhelmed

Search this Thread

Old August 8th, 2013, 07:01 PM

Talking Excited but overwhelmed

Hi everyone!
I just bought a 71 Cutlass Supreme. This is my third Cutlass, fifth if we count the two my dad owned, but my first project. I'm really excited but a little overwhelmed. Mostly just bad timing because I'm a professor and this is the last week before school starts. Why couldn't I have found this car the FIRST week of summer? Lol.
So for the car; it's a 71 Supreme, one owner, 60,000 ish original miles. It's completely stock...like "grandma's car" stock.....and beige. Interior is a little rough but serviceable for now. Floor and trunk pans are clean with just a tiny bit of surface rust. Mechanically it needs brakes, shocks (maybe new springs), tie rods, etc. And a good tune up. Oh, and the tires are as bald as Kojak. The body is near perfect but it does have a small, but deep, rust spot about the size of my thumb behind each rear wheel mud flap. So that's top on the list of repairs.

cd42227d-7b96-4f18-9cba-da7e0756266b.jpg

Mine2.jpg

So I hope it's cool if I have a lot of questions. I'm a pretty fair mechanic but it's the aesthetics I'm not sure how to achieve. And if I may, I have a couple right off the bat.
1. How do folks get this jacked-up look? Because this is what I'm going for:
ideal.jpg

2. Do most folks go with the same size tires front and back? I understand the rotation advantage but I'm going for looks.
3. Should converting the front breaks to disc be high on the list? The plan is for this to be my daily driver but I'm not planning on any racing.

Well, that's it for now. I've been doing a lot of reading here the past week and this seems like the place to be.
-Mac
Old August 8th, 2013, 07:16 PM
Justin

Welcome ! Nice car