The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Benched

Search this Thread

Old November 5th, 2014, 08:31 AM

Benched

I am a newbie here with my '66 4speed 442. California car, clean as a whistle, original paint and interior ( so I thought). Its hard to fake original patina'd paint, but the interior is another story. I never knew why my buckets were through bolted until I pulled up the two layers of carpet and pad(no joke!), and found there to be no brackets welded in. Car must've been born with a bench. It has the higher end interior with the horizontal pleats all in Maroon. I am looking for a bench and will be welding up the ten holes drilled into the pristine floor. Idiots. My question to all of you is which bench is correct? Arm rest with nicer pleated vinyl to match definitely original door panels, or regular f85 style bench with diamond shaped upholstery? If I get one from a 68-up, can the headrests be removed and covered over? Which cars had the stainless trim on the side? Only Olds?
Found 66 Chevelle bench and '67 Cutty bench, no arm rest on either. Really would like a CAR Bench so the nicer material can be used. I need advice as to what one is in it. Not a post car.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
10-14-14 dump 030.jpg (57.6 KB, 29 views)
Old November 5th, 2014, 09:52 AM

Welcome
Nice

More pix?

Two carpets, you say?
Old November 5th, 2014, 10:29 AM
Administrator

Welcome to the site, x2 on more pictures. Hopefully someone will chime in on your seating issue. Does the cowl tag reflect it being born with a bench seat?
Old November 5th, 2014, 10:34 AM