The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

69 Olds Cutty Supreme 455rocket

Search this Thread

Old May 1st, 2012, 07:32 PM
See ya at the FINISH LINE

Question 69 Olds Cutlass Supreme 455rocket

Im new to the Olds 455...But im def loving it...current owner of 69 cutlass supreme w 455... just acquired it in feb as a resto and tribute to a good friend whom past in Dec last year... I currently am going school for my ase cert, and I have so many ?? concernig my Olds. The instructors were I go arent that familar w Olds, they are real particular motors and need exact tuning specs from what i can tell in my research...I wanting all the info i can get on these cars anyone got any info for a newb??? I have temp running at 210 or a lil under all time 0n 50* and 60* havnt had for summer yet... As well one set of rockers chattering and I suspecting a slight head gasket problem...ANy takers to my ?? much obliged>>> Just looked more precisely before I went and started a thread but My #1 cyl exhuast valve pushrod starts to pump then stops?? I was told it is clogging! Run a quart of tranny fluid in w oil and change and see if this settles the problem???

Last edited by Chris Wicks; May 6th, 2012 at 11:33 PM. Reason: DROPPED THE TERM CUTTY!!!!
Old May 3rd, 2012, 10:03 AM

Welcome to the site and nice car. There is plenty info to be found here but we might need some more info about your car first. Is it a 2 or 4 door or coupe. Would also need numbers off engine to find out exactly what year that is. Numbers are just behind water pump and oil filler tube and a single letter from the drivers side head near the #1 sparkplug. Post some pics!
Also 210 degrees sounds a little high, 180-190 sounds a little better.
Rob

Last edited by Beob; May 3rd, 2012 at 10:06 AM.
Old May 3rd, 2012, 08:33 PM

Welcome to the site Chris! Yes, please post pictures of your car.
John
Old May 3rd, 2012, 10:02 PM