The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

62 Dynamic speedometer trouble

Search this Thread

Old May 8th, 2013, 09:04 PM

62 Dynamic speedometer trouble

Hello, I am new to the sight. I am a professional mechanic, but have just ran into a problem I have no experience with. I just picked up a 62 Dynamic 2dr with a 394 and auto. I got the car with a non working speedometer that was just unhooked ( or so I thought). When I went to hook the speedometer back up I found that there was no place on the trans to hook it to. I am told that it has a later model trans in it that came from a car with a spindle speedometer hook up. What are my options here to get a working speedo again? Am I in the bag for an impossible to find 1962" Slim Jim" tranny? Can I change over the front LT spindle? How about replacing the tail shaft on the trans to get me where I need to be? I realy don't want to drop big dollars on this car, its just going to be a nice cruiser when I am done. But sometimes you have to do what you have to do. Any help or advice would be much appreciated.
Old May 9th, 2013, 06:42 AM

I would say you have an interesting problem. Alas, I have no solutions to offer, but would be interested in learning the final resolution if/when you hit upon it.
Old May 9th, 2013, 12:38 PM

I think I recall a buddy of mine installing a rebuilt newer Slim Jim in he '62 Starfire, and having to swap tail housings in order to get a working speedometer. Let me check on that.

Paul
Old May 9th, 2013, 01:51 PM