The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

1965 Jetstar 88

Search this Thread

Old December 3rd, 2013 | 11:33 AM

1965 Jetstar 88

Hi everyone, I am very new to all this so bare with me. I am 16 and recently purchased a 1965 Jetstar 88 with as I was told a 425 in it. It had an aftermarket aluminum radiator to go with it. The motor ran for a few months and all the car needed interior restoration and a paint job along with many other cosmetic things. The motor has a hole in it now and I plan on putting a 455 in it. I have a 1975 455 out of a olds 98 and a parts motor from a 69 olds with class "c" heads. I was just wondering what some good ideas would be to do to make it fit and all the things I should redo on the motor? the 75 runs but needs new gaskets for sure. I want to use the original transmission.
Old December 3rd, 2013 | 11:44 AM

Also any advice on what I need to make the 455 fit?
Old December 3rd, 2013 | 03:17 PM

Welcome to CO

the 455 is a bolt in fit but is a low compression smog motor with around 190 to 230 hp not nearly what you had with the original 425. What you need to do first is figure out how much you want / have to spend on you engine. If not much just install the 455 the way it is and have fun with it and save your money for a quality rebuild using higher compression pistons and the C heads out of the 69 motor. the heads will most likely have to be rebuilt as well. We are talking 2k to 5k for a low buck rebuild and can go much higher for a hi performance engine. Of course the costs also depend on how much you can do yourself. Many other will chime in with advice as well

Good luck
Old December 3rd, 2013 | 04:17 PM