1965 Delta 88 Turbo build

Search this Thread

Old November 28th, 2020, 10:43 AM

1965 Delta 88 Turbo build

Hey everyone! I am a full on engine building newbie but it is time to start the planning stage of the engine rebuild for my Delta. I am keeping the 425 and plan on a rebuild that will include a Holley EFI system and a turbo. I'm decent a turning a wrench but as far as engine design goes I am starting from square one and there are no shops around that do it here. I am wanting to build a street car for road trips and cruising with the ability to go to the track occasionally with my dad and his 67 GTO. I am looking at the 500-600 hp range with the turbo. Again I am totally new to this so please let me know if I am looking at this wrong.

Currently I am looking at what to do with the bottom of the engine. I am currently looking at Moly piston rings with forged pistons and connecting rods. Opinions on domed vs flat or other options? Are the stock pistons viable for this build?

I was hoping to use the stock forged crankshaft. Is that a good idea or should I go a different route?

Opinions on using a girdle?

The most confusing part for me is the heads. I am planning on buying aluminum heads and have done some research into flow numbers and how they pertain to the cam. I know the cam will need a custom grind but any suggestions on where to start on the heads? Or suggestions on who to talk to? There is a machine shop that is highly rated here but they don't design builds and they are not very knowledgeable about Oldsmobile's. They will be machining the block and balancing the bottom end.

I am currently recovering form a knee surgery so I figured now is the time to do the research and start acquiring parts ahead of doing the machining.

Here is what I am starting with. Pictures from the ad that I bought it from. It did come with the front bumper and the engine does run but the transmission will need a rebuild that I plan on tackling myself.
Thanks in advance!