General Questions Place to post your questions that don't fit into one of the specific forums below.

Mechanical fuel pump replacment

Search this Thread

Old July 13th, 2012, 10:54 AM

Mechanical fuel pump replacment

Getting to replace the fuel pump on my 69 cutlass. I have never done this before but have been told that I should be able to complete the task. Any advice or concerns that anyone has please let me know. One of my main concerns is beign sure the lever is is placed correctly.
Attached Images
File Type: gif
fuel pump.gif (43 Bytes, 677 views)
Old July 13th, 2012, 11:05 AM
Administrator

Its very easy, just do everything in reverse that you did to remove the old one. Make sure you clean the gasket surface of all the old gasket mat'l before reassembly. Als, plug or pinch the rubber line from your tank line to the fuel pump or you will have fuel all over the garage floor.
Old July 13th, 2012, 04:16 PM

Put a bit of cam lube or assembly lube on the lever that goes inside the engine, so you won't get premature wear on it or the fuel pump eccentric on the cam.
Old July 13th, 2012, 07:06 PM

Originally Posted by oldcutlass
Als, plug or pinch the rubber line from your tank line to the fuel pump or you will have fuel all over the garage floor.
Very important, as the fuel will siphon and not stop unless the line is pinched or the tank runs empty...

When you remove the bolts, not the direction of tilt on the pump body. You will need to tilt the new pump in that same direction. You can rotate the crank pulley some if the tilt is too extreme to get the bolts in.
Old July 18th, 2012, 09:23 AM

Can you describe the tilt thing a little more? I cannot get the pump to go back in now because of the fact that it tilts back like that. When I was unscrewing the bolts it started to tilt back from the top(it was tilted up). So you are saying that it should tilt like that? Then how do I screw the bolts back in? I cannot get close enough to see inside very well.