General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Wonderings of a whippersnapper...

Search this Thread

Old November 20th, 2012, 11:25 AM
Got wood? I do! (an '89)

Wonderings of a whippersnapper...

I test cars for a living and have found that even the cheapest of them are generally well-assembled. But it took parking a $212k [no typo] Mercedes S65 AMG next to my Custom Cruiser to notice that you can't seem to buy craftsmanship anymore.

From the perfect little rectangle of body-matching paint on the door handles to all the beautifully-joined woodgrain--the small stuff especially, like around the rear window--plastic and chrome, it's hard NOT to find truly exceptional detail work anywhere on her.

Now, however, it's like buyers stopped caring about that stuff. How else can the monochrome jellybean that you find made by EVERYBODY be explained?

Lots of cars have elegant FEATURES--a grille here, a chrome swoop there--but walk around any new car and try to find something you could proudly say YOU did it.

[Except that Benzes 621 hp twin-turbo 6-liter V-12. That one's mine...]

Last edited by auto_editor; November 20th, 2012 at 11:30 AM.
Old November 20th, 2012, 02:02 PM

Wink

I think there is a total dif outlook from many now!!! Do you always watch where you park it???
Old November 21st, 2012, 06:25 AM
Old(s) Fart

Unfortunately, new cars are styled in the wind tunnel first, which is why all of them look alike (the same way that all commercial jetliners look alike). Frankly, there are almost no cars built in the last 20 years that do anything for me. POSSIBLY a CTS-V wagon (with manual trans). I wouldn't kick a Viper out of the garage, either, but that's about it. Nothing else excites me. The German cars especially are soulless. I can appreciate the performance, but too much electronic intervention. Even the supercars. I'd take a Muira over any new Lambo. Sorry, I'll stick to my 1960s through 1980s cars.
Old November 21st, 2012, 06:33 AM