General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

What kind of alt to run?

Search this Thread

Old August 4th, 2008, 06:00 PM
Just an Olds Guy

What kind of alt to run?

First, I'm not an electrician or mechanic or this wouldn't be a question.

I'm installing a LOT of power factory options on my 72 Cutlass S. She was born kind of plain. Now I'm dressing her up for the ball.

1. When built she had only the following options PS, PB, AT so it came with a 55 amp alt.
2. I'm adding (power everything) seat, windows, door lock, trunk release, cruise, lighting accessory groups, rear window defogger, headlamp delay, tape deck, rallye gauges, etc. This is going to probably need more than the 55 will handle. I know that Olds put out a 61 or 63 amp for heavily optioned cars. But, will it handle everything?
3. I bought a 1972 accessory junction block and a couple of accessory pigtails to carry the current. Also got the relays.
4. What's the difference between and DX?? and DN plug that goes into the alt? Mine is external voltage reg. I understand that it can be adjusted. probably will need it with this load?
5. I want to keep the car as authentic as possible. Can you get an alt that puts out 100 amps that would fit a 350 L34, and would that be a better way to go?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
72 may 22 08 001.jpg (106.7 KB, 19 views)
Old August 4th, 2008, 07:28 PM
Just the facts...

unless the the car was ordered with a heavy duty alternator, air conditioning/heated back glass(rear window defogger-electric grid type),
it would have come with a 37/42 amp alternator.

how far do you want to go with this upgrade?

options:
1) a 63 amp stock type alternator (10dn-externally regulated).
2) an upgraded output 10dn type alternator.
3) an internally regulated 10si alternator(output choices available).
4) an internally regulated 12si alternator(several output choices available and it produces nearly 1/2 of it's rated output at/near idle speed).