General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

speedo cable source

Search this Thread

Old December 17th, 2020 | 03:28 PM

speedo cable source

hi. I'm working on the broken speedo in my 1964 Olds Super 88. It looks like the cable has broken at the dust cap end. Does anyone have a reliable source for a new cable?

I'm new to the speedometer cable repair idea - I have done nothing except for removing the dust cap to expose the cable end. now, do I just pull the cable out of the cable guide which ends at the speedometer at the dash and insert a new cable?

TIA

Robert
Old December 17th, 2020 | 04:23 PM

If the cable is broken, you can get a replacement cable and end most anywhere. If your ‘64 is like my ‘66 it’s a pretty simple system using the front left wheel to drive the cable at wheel speed.

The actual speedo spiral wound drive cable sits inside another spiral wound cable which you can think of as the housing. To have an accurate speed reading you want the inner cable spinning as freely as possible within its housing. The usual problem is that the inner cables break, or bind, or kink, or don’t have enough lubrication to spin freely. Or your dust cap nylon female fitting can snap. Fix these problems and your speedo will go another 50 years without too much attention.

First check the dust cap. In the middle you should see a nylon round pin with the center squared out to retain the square end of the inner speedo cable. It should be 1-1.5” long. If it’s shorter or snapped off, you have a replacement challenge. GM used these dust caps in many cars in the early-mid-60’s before they went to driving the speedo off the transmission. Check for dust caps for all the GM brands to see if you can find one that fits. Or hit up a classic junkyard and have them send one. It shouldn’t be too expensive. I’d guess <$50.00. In the extreme you can repair yours by retrofitting another nylon pin from a sacrificial wrong-size part.