General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Shipping Assistance

Search this Thread

Old January 27th, 2021, 05:57 PM

Shipping Assistance

Hopefully I'm in the right catagory- can anyone recommend someone to ship a car and separate engine on a pallet from California to Ohio? Looking for both to ride together.

thanks in advance

-Dave
Old January 27th, 2021, 06:09 PM

That's an interesting combination. An engine on a pallet could get trucked thru Fastenal or similar. A car needs hauled on a trailer. You may need a car hauler by trade and slide the engine on behind. Do you need an enclosed trailer for a show car, or open for a project or what? I know a show car hauler.
Old January 27th, 2021, 06:37 PM

Thanks for your thoughts, it's not a show car, bit want to protect it none the less, I'm hoping to ship both together, kind of thinking single or smaller car hauler that has room for the engine. Can't imagine how much it will cost though, Not really sure where to go.....

Old January 27th, 2021, 07:06 PM

Going through the shipping fiasco myself right now. Have had bad experiences and ok experiences. Only time I’ve ever had no issues getting my car was when using Reliable. They are more expensive, but just get the job done. They are not a broker.

Don’t think any of the regular shipper/brokers will haul the motor on a pallet with your car. If you do happen to get this accomplished, please let us know who it was for future reference.

Best of luck! I always found the shipping more stressful than the purchase......

Joe
Old January 27th, 2021, 08:03 PM

I was in discussion with Mr. Rick Powell to haul a Hurst/Olds I was contemplating purchasing. I declined to purchase it and did not need his services. The one I did buy I could have walked to; it was in my town.

He has made an ad here.

https://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/...nsport.614568/
Old January 27th, 2021, 08:51 PM
Banned