General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Scamming scum

Search this Thread

Old April 15th, 2013, 11:49 AM
Sammy70 455 Supreme

Scamming scum

I am currently selling a 1970 Cutlass and here is an email I received:

.how I wish I could come and inspect it but currently working.I'm a marine engineer who's on a ship right now. so I'll be buying it without seeing it.Also I'll be paying via Pay Pal and I'm more tha happy to pay the PayPal transfer charges too.Due to the distance as me presently working I'll arrange the pick-up of it with a private courier services soon as you get your payment,so tell me it's condition and more pictures of it.

The name on the email account was Mary Cole

Do these people really think we are that stupid? Sure sounds fishy to me...
Old April 15th, 2013, 12:04 PM

It is a scam, just ignore it.
Old April 15th, 2013, 01:08 PM
"Car"mudgeon

Sounds like trouble Ted RUN!
Old April 15th, 2013, 02:04 PM
Runner

When in doubt, google the entire message....
https://www.google.com/search?ie=UTF...w=1128&bih=637
Old April 15th, 2013, 02:08 PM
"Car"mudgeon

Great work Joffroi! I'd say that would answer any and all questions
Old April 15th, 2013, 02:15 PM
Sammy70 455 Supreme

Thanks for the link Joffroi.....my scamming email is nothing new I see! I am sure that we talked about it on CO so I was aware of this type of thing...just never had it happen to me before

Thanks,
Ted
Old April 15th, 2013, 02:21 PM

Damn, guys, I feel sorry for all these people. Stationed on a ship at sea for months at a time, all they want to do is buy a classic car to call their own, and you guys can't be bothered to help them out. What a bunch of dreamcrushers.

Seriously though, what's the PayPal scam here. I understand the one where they send you a check for more than the car is worth and you are supposed to send them back the extra, but how do they put money in your PayPal account without it really going in there?
Old April 15th, 2013, 02:46 PM