General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

rear end questions

Search this Thread

Old August 30th, 2011, 10:05 AM

rear end questions

Hello everybody I have a 350(for now)that ima put a intake,4barrel Carb and headers on.I also have a 455 that ima rebuild an add performance parts too an swap.my question is what would you guy do too the rear end on a 1k parts budget.Im not a DIY mechanic kinda guy but these site has helped a lot an I'd like to know what I'm talking about when I talk to a mechanic.thanks
Old August 30th, 2011, 04:16 PM

What exactly are you really asking, as rear end work can get pretty expensive. Usually relate's to ring gear size. Basic on a weak motored car would probably be a 7-1/2". Next step would be 8-1/2", which are actually quite strong, and the minimum needed running a 455. A 8-3/4" 12 bolt cover is better still, if you can find one. Then you're going something like a 9" Currie(Ford), and the price really starts climbing here, well as the assembly weight. Thinkin' a well set up 8-1/2" 3.42 posi set up for what you're doing. It's what Im doing on street rubber(actually 3.73). But if beating the crap out of it on the strip with slicks, would surely go Currie 9".
Old August 30th, 2011, 09:14 PM

thanks for the reply you told me exactly what a needed to know.can anyone tell me what kind this is,i can take more pics.thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
IMG_20110830_122331.jpg (39.6 KB, 24 views)
Old August 31st, 2011, 01:58 AM