General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Posting pictures, rear end install, car colors, etc...

Search this Thread

Old September 25th, 2009, 01:38 AM

Posting pictures, rear end install, car colors, etc...

Hi guys. I have two 69 cutlasses. The first I bought back in '89. It was a nice 442 clone daily driver in college. Then I graduated, got married, had the first kid and parked my car under a tree in the grass and left it there for 10 years. What? Isn't that the best way to store a car in northern IL? Yes, it went downhill rapidly. In '04 I bought another '69 cutlass. Not in very good condition as it has some rust behind all 4 wheels but it has a much better chance than the first one. I can even wash and wax it, which is more than I can say for the other one. This one is kept in the garage and thankfully doesn't look any worse than it did 5 years ago when I picked it up.
The old clone car has been great for fixing this one up. Right away I rebuilt the motor from the old car and swapped in the engine and trans(455/th400). Also, swapped the bumpers (442 rear bumper), tail lights, grill (442), glove box door (442), steering gear box (less turns), tilt steering column (no column shift), steering wheel (I think all the steering was from a Trans Am), and Hurst "slap stick" shifter. The old 442 clone also donated many other goodies like rear view mirror with map light, glove box light, trunk light, etc.
I drove it around very little from '04 to '07 and hated it because it had 4-wheel manual drum brakes. So in '07 I decided to take the spindles and booster from the other car so I could have power disc brakes. Ended up sitting on jack stands for 2 years due to lack of time and $. Finally put it back on the road a couple weeks ago with new control arm bushings and hardware, springs, shocks, ss brake lines, master cylinder, etc. It's nice to have brakes that don't involve a hope and a prayer!