General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Oldspower.com information

Search this Thread

Old July 28th, 2012, 01:59 PM

Oldspower.com information

Hi.

To quell any rumors, here are the facts as I've been made aware. Seems as the server that we have been overpaying for for some time with very little if ANY technical support with our damaging issues as told us that "Sorry, you have ran out of hard drive space". Was it a virus that killed it? Quite possible. But as all well know, I am no expert (at anything)

WTF? How exactly does this happen when we set up a site with unlimited HD space.

Other than that, I have no answers. Oldspower isn't dead, its just comatose. You may see it come back completely renewed with some better support. Are we selling out? No. not exactly. However, expect the unexpected. All will be welcome to return, IF we decide to run "under new management".

Anyone that had my email, change the comcast to att.net. No, I'm not asking for help, or condolances. I felt the need to make an effort to let those that did enjoy the site know that we are researching other options.

Chances are good that we will be back in some capacity. Chances are NOT good that things will be "back to normal".

Respectfully,

John
Old July 28th, 2012, 03:54 PM
Connoisseur d'Junque

This may sound obvious, but I trust that you have the entire site backed up "off-site," ie: on a couple of hard drives in someone's house, in case the commercial server suddenly experiences unexpected "problems."

- Eric
Old July 28th, 2012, 04:57 PM

Originally Posted by MDchanic
This may sound obvious, but I trust that you have the entire site backed up "off-site," ie: on a couple of hard drives in someone's house, in case the commercial server suddenly experiences unexpected "problems."

- Eric
We counted on our service provider to do that. Those files were backed up every Tues and Thurs. They have yet to release those files. Lesson learned.

John