General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Let's talk weatherstripping

Search this Thread

Old January 13th, 2012, 04:47 PM

Let's talk weatherstripping

My '72 Cutlass S could really use a new set of weatherstripping around both side windows. In fact, the passenger window is really rattling when I drive it and the wind noises are driving me nuts too.

Basically are these kits about $120 to buy and are they difficult to install for a complete newbie? If I wanted a shop to do it, would I be able to get it done at a Safelite type place or my local garage perhaps? It doesn't seem too complicated, but when I look at these kits I can see how I would be easily confused.

Thanks,
Bill
Old January 13th, 2012, 05:11 PM

If you are handy with mechanic things, then you should be able to do it in your garage! Since it takes time to do a good job, it could be costly at a shop. If you do not want to install it, at least remove the old and scrape away the old. That is most of the job right there.

Many of us had done this and can guide you through the process.
You will need a razor knife, 3M black weatherstrip cement (5oz does two whole cars), some plastic/wood scraping tools, some goo-gone, a weekend, tape measure, lots of patience, and some beer to celebrate a job well done!

Get a good set, like from Steele or Metro - the cheap ones will be hard to compress.
How does the door w-strip look?
Old January 13th, 2012, 06:50 PM
Olds Dreamer

Get the weatherstripping kit and clean the old ones off and take a look at it. i was afraid of doing my car by myself but once i started doing it it was easier than i thought and turned out well.
Old January 13th, 2012, 06:57 PM

Hey TenMidgets: You can do it man! Did you check out U.S.A. Parts Supply?

Check out pages 81-90.

http://www.usapartssupply.com/upload...75_catalog.pdf

Good luck with your project!
Old January 13th, 2012, 07:08 PM
Just an Olds Guy

Originally Posted by TenMidgets