General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Draining my battery

Search this Thread

Old August 31st, 2013, 01:04 PM

Exclamation Draining my battery

I have a 1969 Cutlass. It was previously owned and considering I am new to cars and, as you'll find out, am new to the electrical aspects of cars. Something has been draining my battery.

1) I have found the fusible wire. The wire is hot. The problem is the fuse is dead in the fusible wire. Seeing as how I can usually start the car. That means another wire is going to my fuse panel, right?

2) This might not be an issue, but I wouldn't know. I'm more of just concerned. The positive terminal is connected to the tranny and has a ground cable on it. The negative cable is connected to the alternator. Does this sound right, because I thought it was the other way around? I even tried to connect it the other way around and it was parking before I could even finish.

-David
Old August 31st, 2013, 01:30 PM
Administrator

Do you have pictures, cause what your describing is definitely wrong.
Old August 31st, 2013, 01:39 PM
Connoisseur d'Junque

+1. None of what you said makes any sense whatsoever, so we will need much more explanation, and preferably clear photographs, to begin to help you.

What sort of work do you do? That will help us to see how your brain is slanted when looking at this stuff, and when reading manuals and diagrams.

- Eric
Old August 31st, 2013, 02:58 PM

20130831_162327.jpg20130831_162331.jpg
Old August 31st, 2013, 03:40 PM
Old School Olds

Do you have access to a chassis
service manual?
I don't see your pos. cable going to
the horn relay at all. The large starter wire
should be coming up to it as well.

Do you have a remote starter button hooked
up somehow? I don't even see how this would
even work from what little I can see.
Old August 31st, 2013, 03:56 PM