General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

66 442

Search this Thread

Old November 2nd, 2011, 08:18 PM

66 442

I am just getting into cars being only 16 years old and really like oldsmobiles and looking for a good project car. I found a 66 442 that was wrecked in 69 and has 32,000 origional miles. In the crash the frame was bent but can be fixed the fenders are trash and so is the front clip and the interior was stripped and motor and 4 speed trans in now gone. It is a triple black car and has no rust at all. The convertable top would need to be replaced also. Has the posi rear end still in it. Sorry for not having pics but would like to know if $3500 is reasonable or not. Thank you Zack
Old November 2nd, 2011, 11:46 PM

Just sounds like a lot of work... I mean a LOT of work. It would most likely be years before you get a chance to drive it. Are you ready for that kind of project? If you stay on the lookout, you can get a lot of car for that kind of money. You just have to be patient... Took me a year to find mine, and I'm glad I waited. Are you specific about the model and year?
Old November 3rd, 2011, 06:12 AM
Administrator

Welcome, always nice to get new blood, (literally) into the hobby! I would have to agree $3500 would buy a running car, that you can drive while you fix it up. It may not be a convertable, but you would enjoy it more.

Good luck!
Old November 3rd, 2011, 06:40 AM
Certifiable car addict...

I'd have to agree with the others here. $3500 is a lot of cash for a first project in that condition. The car very well may be worth that, (especially if was a rare optioned car) but it's going to take a LOT of work to get it back into running condition, let alone fully restored, either as a driver or showpiece.

If you could get information such as the VIN & cowl tags, it would provide better information on whether or not it's a rare beast and worth the time & money.