General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

403 heads

Search this Thread

Old November 15th, 2016 | 06:16 PM

403 heads

I am trying to figure out if these heads would be good for a 403 and if so what would have to be done to them?? Thanks for the help I am very very new at this.

1967-69 Oldsmobile 442 'C' Big Valve Heads

They are in good condition and originally came on W-30, 425ci & 455ci motors.
These have the 80cc chambers, the valves are the big 2.072. Many people believe
these are the best flowing big block heads. These came off a good running 455ci
motor. On the center exhaust ports, the center wall was lengthened to the outer
surface of the head to increase power and also works better with headers.
That was the only modifications done to these heads.
Old November 15th, 2016 | 06:41 PM

That depends on what you are doing to the engine. If you are just doing a head swap and not touching the bottom end you will end up dropping you compression quite a bit due to the larger combustion chambers.
If you are going to do a complete rebuild you should talk to cutlassefi about pistons as he just finished a 403 with BBO heads and it is a stump puller.
Old November 15th, 2016 | 06:56 PM
Out of Line, Everytime😉

Actually both those C heads and 403 heads measure 80 cc plus. Most say the BBO heads are 82-84 cc. My 4A's cc'd at 86. You need a piston like the KB 6cc or Arias 3cc to provide adequate compression.
Old November 15th, 2016 | 07:36 PM