Trouble installing 71 Cutlass clock gauge

Search this Thread

Old December 22nd, 2012, 04:46 PM

Trouble installing 71 Cutlass clock gauge

Hi All,

I'm a total newbie at installing anything electrical and thought I would give it a shot, but alas I am stuck. Bought a stock clock gauge to replace an aftermarket tach...removed the instrument bezel and unscrewed the bolts around the tach.

Now when I try to find a female power wire to accept the male wire from the clock there is nothing there that fits. I found two orange wires with male ends and another orange w/ a female end that has since been modified and doesn't look stock (I think, who knows)?

I thought the best thing I could do was post some pics up of what I see and maybe someone can tell me what wire will plug into the back of the clock so I can screw it all back on and be done with this?

Thanks!
Bill
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
photo(91).jpg (45.3 KB, 92 views)
photo(92).jpg (65.9 KB, 77 views)
photo(93).jpg (44.6 KB, 67 views)
photo(94).jpg (56.9 KB, 69 views)
Old December 22nd, 2012, 07:03 PM

GM wiring colors hasn't changed much in 50 years, orange is battery voltage (hot at all times) pink is battery voltage with the key on, gray is dash lighting (power with the lights on changes with how far you turn the headlight switch), brown is power to the taillights. Use a 12 volt test light to check for power on the orange wire. It should have power no matter what position the key is in. If not, check the fuse for the courtesy light (do they work?). Check for power on the gray wire with the headlights on. If not, check the taillight fuse and the fuse for the dash lights. The factory wire connectors have probably been cut to wire up the aftermarket tach. You can use insulated 1/4 spade connectors to replace the ends.

Last edited by matt69olds; December 22nd, 2012 at 07:09 PM.
Old December 22nd, 2012, 08:18 PM