New to Olds

Search this Thread

Old April 29th, 2019 | 03:19 PM

New to Olds

Hi all, I recently inherited a 72 Cutlass and am having some issues with the radio. It might be a simple fix but I’m a dope when it comes to wiring. My issue is almost no volume out of the stereo. When cranked all the way, all I hear is a dull hum. I’m very new to cars and am looking for any insight. Thanks in advance for your patience and help.
Old April 29th, 2019 | 03:33 PM
Administrator

Stock or aftermarket stereo? A dull hum or very low volume. Very low volume is probably shot speakers. A dull hum can be a lot of things to include a bad antenna ground to bad output transistors.
Old April 29th, 2019 | 03:39 PM

It’s the original stereo and now that you mention it, it is better described as very low volume so I assume you’re correct about the bad speakers. Aside from putting new ones in, is there any way to test that? Again, I apologize for my ignorance on the topic.
Old April 29th, 2019 | 03:45 PM
Old(s) Fart

Low or no volume from the Delco radios is almost always caused by the power transistor going bad. The transistor is the round device visible on the back of the radio case. It is bolted to a heat sink internally. I've replaced them, and it restores radio function, but you still have a crappy 1970 radio. New ones are available on ebay, as well as from electronic suppliers like Mouser and DigiKey.

Old April 29th, 2019 | 06:57 PM
Administrator

This is not the same shape of your speakers, but from your description they usually look like this:
Old April 30th, 2019 | 08:50 AM

Yep, it is either bad speaker(s) or bad output. Time to repair or replace. Depends on your taste. If you repair, you end up with a 50 year old radio. If you replace, you end up with modern equipment that can improve your driving experience. Your call.
Old April 30th, 2019 | 12:46 PM