72 cutlass won’t start...

Search this Thread

Old October 22nd, 2019 | 03:30 PM

72 cutlass won’t start...

Hey everyone what’s up. I drove my 72 cutlass from Dallas to okc Sunday and i was pretty nervous because I didn’t think it would make it. But the next day I went to Sonics and my car wouldn’t start so I thought it was the starter since my lights and radio worked fine luckily there was a shop next door they said it was the battery so I got a new battery and when I got back to campus it wouldn’t cut back on again. So then I thought well maybe it’s the alternator. So I changed the alternator. Guess what? Still won’t start. I’m convinced it’s a wiring issue because we got my 2nd pair of headlights installed and the brake lights and the turn signals and the license plate light. If you guys can give any advice that would be great and I am not familiar with electrical terms and stuff so I’m a noob at electrical stuff.
Old October 22nd, 2019 | 03:38 PM
same but different

Make sure you have good battery cable connections. Must be clean and tight.

Wiggle your shifter while turning the key and then.... try to start it in neutral. See if that helps.
Old October 22nd, 2019 | 03:57 PM

Originally Posted by don71
Make sure you have good battery cable connections. Must be clean and tight.

Wiggle your shifter while turning the key and then.... try to start it in neutral. See if that helps.
Battery cable connections are good. I used to have to do that wiggle the shift to start some time ago but I fixed that. It cranks but then you just hear the ticking from the starter solenoid against the flywheel.
Old October 22nd, 2019 | 04:51 PM
72 Olds CS

is it a floor shift ? if yes try turning the collar on the steering column or try to start the car in nuetral instead of park
Old October 22nd, 2019 | 04:58 PM

Originally Posted by jhawkthebeast
It cranks but then you just hear the ticking from the starter solenoid against the flywheel.