Removing rear seat on '65 Delta 88 sedan

Search this Thread

Old June 9th, 2011, 05:05 AM

Removing rear seat on '65 Delta 88 sedan

Forgive me if this is a total newbie question, but, well, I'm a total newbie. I'm taking out the back seat so I can get a good look what's back there in my quest to install 3 point harnesses in all 3 seating positions. The seat bottom was really easy to remove. But what's the trick to removing the verticle part of the rear seat? I saw two tabs, one on each side of the seat near the edge. They had a verticle slit in them that fit over a tab or whatever you call it that stuck out. That was easy. But a few inches to the inside of those there was a square hook, like a "U" mounted to the bottom of the seat. It hooked into a tab facing downward mounted to the car. It looked like the seat back should just push downward to allow the "U" to slide off the tab. But it doesn't budge. What am I missing?
Old June 9th, 2011, 05:56 AM
2 '66 98's

I'm at somewhat of a loss from your description. Usually there are just two metal tabs hooked through heavy wire loops at the bottom of the seat. You just bend the tabs to free the loops and then pull the seat straight upward to lift it off hooks near the upper seat back. Could you post a picture?
Old June 9th, 2011, 07:37 AM

Sorry, my description sucked. I read it again and was scratching my own head...

It's those metal tabs hooked through the wire loops that I was stuck on. I didn't know you were supposed to bend the tabs. Obviously, I have no plans to constantly remove the backseat, but wouldn't you risk breaking the tabs if you bent them too many times?

The other part I was referring to is a few inches towards the rocker panel from the tabs you described. They just look like guides for the seat. It's a tab with a verticle slit in it.

I didn't take photos last night, but plan to tonight to see if someone can help me figure out how to mount 3 point belts back there, especially in the center section.