Advice on potential '63 Super 88 Restoration

Search this Thread

Old April 30th, 2014, 05:19 PM

Advice on potential '63 Super 88 Restoration

Hi all. I am completely new to the restoration scene (and really working on cars in general) and am considering picking up a project and giving it a go. It is something I have wanted to do for a long time and have somewhat recently come to a position in life where I can make it a reality.

Having said that, I came across a '63 Super 88 on the local craigslist page and fell in love . I am looking for some advice on how to proceed/decide if it is worth it/worth my while or if I should continue looking (know that I am not looking to turn a profit on this, it is purely for personal enjoyment/enrichment and am aware of the potential costs and time investment). I am planning on doing as much of the work on my own as possible.

The most helpful information will probably be knowing what the right questions to ask and what the best signs to look for will be when/if I go to see it in person, but any advice is appreciated.

Vehicle Details (as copied from the listing):
2 door hardtop, V8. 394 engine,
Solid floor pans & trunk,
Needs windshield, ($170).
Complete South Dakota car...$600!
(title is listed as clean)
the price has gone down from $1000 a few weeks ago when i first saw it: this is obviously concerning to me...too good to be true or someone in desperate need of cash?

Pictures:

Thanks for your time.
Old April 30th, 2014, 06:04 PM
71 cutlass convertible

My .02 I would keep looking. Missing parts will be hard to find. The price is good, but as a novice I would look for something more complete and easier to finish. As a novice I would hate for you to get over your head. I did with my first car and it was a disaster.

Might want to look into a 68-72 cutlass, parts are much easier to find. I will admit probably not as neat when done.

Good luck with whatever you decide.

Larry
Old April 30th, 2014, 06:49 PM