Standard vs. Limited Slip

Search this Thread

Old November 12th, 2013, 08:43 AM

Standard vs. Limited Slip

Hi gang,

Can you please try to explain the difference in feel between a standard rear vs. a limited slip? I'm very used to standard rears in my Ninety Eights but I upgraded my black car to a limited slip and I can definitely feel a difference when cornering. Is it normal to feel what I would describe as a mild "rumble" when making turns? Is it possible that I didn't set the pinion 100% correctly when changing the seal?

I'm pretty new to limited slip rears so feel free to educate me here.

thank you,
John
Old November 12th, 2013, 09:16 AM

Did you include the anti-spin additive when you added the fluid? Get the GM stuff, aftermarket gear lube such as BFL used to include it but don't know about today, or what diff lube you used. Even well worn units will chatter on a tight corner such a fast U-turn without it.

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/na...FWlT4godvTkA7w
Old November 12th, 2013, 09:41 AM

Originally Posted by coldwar
Did you include the anti-spin additive when you added the fluid? Get the GM stuff, aftermarket gear lube such as BFL used to include it but don't know about today, or what diff lube you used. Even well worn units will chatter on a tight corner such a fast U-turn without it.

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/na...FWlT4godvTkA7w
Very helpful, thank you! I can't remember the brand I used off the top of my head. I'm almost positive it was for limited slip diffs but I will gladly use the Delco additive over another brand.

Can this be added to any weight gear fluid, with or without existing additive in the fluid that's in there? I'm wondering if I would need to drain the rear and start over again.
Old November 12th, 2013, 09:47 AM

No just pour it in assuming it isn't overfull and would run right back out. DO NOT overfill - Good luck
Old November 12th, 2013, 09:58 AM
Just an Olds Guy

Originally Posted by 76 Regency
Hi gang,