New member and a few questions

Search this Thread

Old January 5th, 2007, 01:22 PM

New member and a few questions

Hey guys,

I am new to Cutlasses and have a few questions for you. I have a 70 Cutlass convertible that has a 4 speed, OAI hood, Sport Mirrors and is all from the factory. Sport mirrors are gone, but the other options are still there. Just out of curiousity, how rare is this car with these options? Any other good classic Cutlass websites out there? Thanks.
Old January 5th, 2007, 02:47 PM

Well there is 442.com, oldspower.com, realoldspower.com that come to mind first. NOT that this is a bad place to get info, it just you asked for others...

The options may have been bolt-ons at the DEALER. I am not 100% sure when they stopped doing that but I know in the late 60's some of the H/O or 442 parts were bolted on via customer request. I have heard of "Cruiser" packages or "Sport" packages, but I do not know for sure all the options that they included.

You can get the mirrors (reproductions) at either fusick.com or oldsparts.com

Hope this helps.

John
Old January 5th, 2007, 02:53 PM
Proud Viet Nam Veteran

I think you will find the 4-speed convertible pretty rare. There are a couple sets of sport mirrors on eby at the present time. I don't think the price was too bad yet.
Old January 5th, 2007, 03:20 PM
Tom Servo's Stunt Double

John,

Welcome! FYI, You could order "ala carte" options that weren't listed as such well into the 70s. But I don't see anything that screams "dealer" or "off the page" ordering. All those items were indeed on the options sheets.

The 4-speed convertible is definately rare, though.

FWIW, be careful about the info on 442.com. There's lots of errors on there.

C.J.
Old January 6th, 2007, 02:42 AM