Looking to purchase a classic

Search this Thread

Old July 13th, 2006, 10:14 PM

Looking to purchase a classic

I'm new to classic Oldsmobiles and am thinking about a purchase. Currently looking at a couple of convertibles, and was wanting some advice prior to purchase. Looking at a 71 and a 72. What are the things I should watch out for ? Are these considered good years ? Are there hidden rust areas I should specifically look for. Other problem areas I should know about. Anything specific to ragtops? Is finding replacement and after market parts hard ? Just trying to look before I leap.
Old August 1st, 2006, 11:11 AM

71 and 72's are considered good years to collectors. Plus they are cool cars.
Check underneath for rust. Check the bumpers as well as you may need to restore them for a better look. Make sure the ragtop motor works smoothly. Another post here had a problem with one. You can find parts suppliers on the internet. One place is Brothers Automotive Products. They claim to be
America's Leading Cutlass/442 Supplier. Here is the link. http://www.oldsparts.com/

Good Luck

Passed life: 69, 72 Cutlass Supreme S, 70, 79 Delta 88
Current luck: 85 Cutlass Supreme Brougham
Old August 1st, 2006, 11:38 AM