Correct orientation of coil spring compressor?

Old March 12th, 2011, 11:47 AM

Correct orientation of coil spring compressor?

Is this roughly the correct orientation of the coil spring compressor... short and long hooks that is?

This is my first time doing front coil springs. These are Hotchkis 1901 1" lowering springs. The compressor tool is a cheap $35 thing made in Taiwan. The similar (and beefier tool) I rented that looks identical to this one would not fit... the big bolt would not go though the top shock frame hole.

Last edited by oldzy; October 22nd, 2011 at 08:32 PM.
Old March 12th, 2011, 12:01 PM
No it's not a parts car!!

Looks about right, I wouldn't leave them compressed for a long time with just the tool. Get the upper control arm and spindle ready then compress it and install the spindle, make sure the spring seats in the lower control arm properly. Keep a jack under the lower control arm while you use the tool and keep it snugged up to the arm as you compress the spring. Use the same caution you did on removal.
Gary
Old March 12th, 2011, 12:04 PM

Thx. Actually, I never removed the originals... I had a friend across the street do it .

It is barely snug now. I am also not sure how the hook things will come out once connected to the spindle, as I had to put through the bottom of the coil.
Old March 13th, 2011, 08:41 AM

The hooks look correct on the coils. When I removed my springs I had the hex end of the shaft at the bottom and used 2 sets of hooks on opposite ends of the spring, but that orientation might not work for installation. The hooks are a bit of a pain to get in/out of the spring when it's installed, but just lift the compressor up and the hooks should fold inward. You may have to completely unthread the hooks from the compressor shaft and wiggle them around to get them out. They should drop through the opening in the lower control arm.

Let us know how this works out. I'll be getting to this point on my own project soon...