Opinions on Wilwood Disc brakes

Search this Thread

Old November 10th, 2018, 05:59 PM

Opinions on Wilwood Disc brakes

Curious what the general consensus/experience with this upgrade is. Worthwhile or waste of time? Better than stock drums? Stock discs? https://www.jegs.com/i/Wilwood/950/1...96-DR/10002/-1
Old November 10th, 2018, 06:51 PM
same but different

I feel disc are better than drums. I have no experience with this kit but feel the stock system would always be easier to get parts for come 4 or 5 years down the road. I mean you can most likely get replacement factory parts at your local store where as any aftermarket kit your limited to the maker or the supplier (jeggs) having these available, but I could be wrong.

That is how I see things. I'll add that upgrading to disc brakes was the #1 best upgrade I feel I've done to my car and I think you'll really like it no matter what option you go with.
Old November 11th, 2018, 06:51 AM
Old(s) Fart

That's a lot of bling, but the rotors are the same size as OEM, which means that the swept brake area is the same, which means that stopping power is likely the same. Your call on if the cost is worth it to you. Personally, I'd go with OEM rotors and the Wilwood D52 calipers as an upgrade. These bolt to the OEM caliper brackets and use stock pads but have more piston area and thus more clamping force.

Old November 11th, 2018, 12:31 PM

Check this site out before you drop some large for front disc set up. https://www.porterfield-brakes.com/c...Full+Race.html good stuff.
Old November 11th, 2018, 01:10 PM

Originally Posted by joe_padavano