Proper procedure for filling and bleeding completely new aftermarket disc/drum setup

Search this Thread

Old April 30th, 2017, 06:11 PM
Chris

Proper procedure for filling and bleeding completely new aftermarket disc/drum setup

Hi everyone! I have a 72 cutlass supreme with a complete power disc/ drum system from inline tube (MBM) i think. I have not yet filled it with fluid and tried to bleed/ set up the system. Can someone help with the proper procedure for doing this? I dont have the engine running yet so no vaccuum lines yet. Do i need to do this first?
Thanks!
Chris
Old April 30th, 2017, 06:31 PM

Should bench bleed master first, I now use a hand operated vacuum bleeder at each wheel. Do not need engine running and works. Start at furthest point, passenger rear and keep master full.
Old April 30th, 2017, 06:44 PM
Old(s) Fart

I've been using a pneumatic vacuum bleeder for well over 15 years now. Best tool investment ever. It isn't even necessary to bench bleed the M/C with one of these.

As for whether you start closest or furthest wheel from the M/C, on a dual circuit brake system it really doesn't matter. Just be sure you don't push the piston for the differential pressure switch all the way to one side by pressing hard on the brake pedal with only one half of the system bled. I suggest getting one of these tools to lock the diff pressure switch in place while bleeding.

Old April 30th, 2017, 07:27 PM
Chris