Body work All body work discussion including vinyl tops

Proper Trim Removal

Search this Thread

Old May 18th, 2012, 09:35 PM

Proper Trim Removal

Hey Guys,
I've started sanding the paint off my car and doing rust repair. This is my first time, so I'm learning as I'm going. I'm just curious, what is the best way to remove the trim, like the chrome trim and emblems? I've never removed them before so I wanna make sure I do it right.

Thanks!
Old May 19th, 2012, 03:13 AM
Oldsdruid

Logan, depends on how the stuff is attached. Scripts and most diecast emblems and trim are retained with studs and Tinnerman nuts. Stainless or aluminum trim uses several different plastic or metal clips.

These attachments are often inaccessible or can only be accessed if you have small hands or a series of extensions and universal joints on your sockets.

The Fisher Body manual for your year will show how the stuff is attached, and the CSM shows the front end sheetmetal.

Keep in mind after 40+ years some of these clips are going to break. Most of the plastic clips are easily found. Spring-type clips like used on some wide stainless body mouldings can be a chore.

Restoration Specialties in Windber PA is a good source for clips and trim hardware, or you can try matching them up in the AuVeCo catalog. Sometimes a good body shop supply will have clips.
Old May 19th, 2012, 06:35 AM

Thanks for the info. I'll look through the body manual and go from there. I guess I'll worry about replacing any clips or nuts when the time comes, since the last thing I want to do is damage any trim in the process of sanding.
Old May 19th, 2012, 11:48 PM