oil Restrictors

Search this Thread

Old March 24th, 2009, 02:36 PM

oil Restrictors

Hi, im building my 1966 400 engine.

Im triying to build a street car, I think around 300HP

In my oiling sistem I bought a new stock oil pump and I just add a new spring for increase the pressure, I have my stock oil pan and pick up, but Mondello also recommend to install oil restrictors (that I bought too)

I dont have any experience with oil restrictors, are they really necesary? I heard some people dond like them?

Im not sure how to install them and im worried that they can come out of its place and damage all the engine?

thanks for any advice
Old March 24th, 2009, 03:11 PM

I'm no expert but i image they would back out and fall into the engine oneday also. take a look at http://www.oldsperformanceproducts.com/ they have some that are threaded.
Old March 24th, 2009, 04:19 PM

Read the link below--asked the same sort of question some time back.
Can`t see the restrictors falling out BTW. -And from what the guys say, unless you are running an engine over 5000 rpm , and the engine is kinda stock , why bother.
MIKE

https://classicoldsmobile.com/forums...ary-where.html
Old March 24th, 2009, 05:49 PM

Oil Restricters

I built my 350 5 or 6 years ago. I installed the restricters. You just loctite them in, no problem.

However you also need to notch the bearing shell as well otherwise they won't allow enough oil to the cam and lifters. Even with that I've had three different hydraulic cams as well as three different sets (brands) of lifters and Rockers, they all clattered.

Next time I'm just going to use a restricted pushrod instead. Seems to me to be a better alternative if you think about it.
Old March 24th, 2009, 06:51 PM
Old(s) Fart