OAI Set Up Questions

Search this Thread

Old January 7th, 2017, 08:23 PM

OAI Set Up Questions

Warning: I am not a mechanic so the questions I'm about to ask may be offensive.

1-Can the air cleaner base shown be used with the flapper shown?
2-If yes do I simply drill a hole in it for the driver side PVC tube?
3-Are the tubes reproduced or do I need to find OE stuff?
4-Do I get the vacuum for the flapper actuator from the line that runs from the front of the carb to the vacuum advance?
5-Is there a gasket needed between the base and the carb?
6-If I run both PVC tubes to the base, do I just cap off the nipple on the front of the carb?

If you have any parts I need to make complete, please let me know if you would like to part with them.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
IMG_3889.JPG (1.42 MB, 278 views)
IMG_3890.JPG (2.08 MB, 255 views)
IMG_3891.JPG (2.08 MB, 249 views)
IMG_3892.JPG (1.59 MB, 246 views)
IMG_3893.JPG (1.52 MB, 244 views)
IMG_3895.JPG (1.54 MB, 256 views)
Old January 8th, 2017, 05:12 AM

The issue that I see here is the HEI unit. The HEI unit does not normally clear the air cleaner base unit without modifications. Also, the air cleaner base would not be correct for a W25 car like yours.
Old January 8th, 2017, 07:31 AM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by Cincinnati Rick
1-Can the air cleaner base shown be used with the flapper shown?
Yes, however as noted, you will need a spacer to clear the HEI.

2-If yes do I simply drill a hole in it for the driver side PVC tube?
You can, however AT cars with W-25 (non-W-30 cars) only used a single breather. Only W-30s and MT cars used the dual breather setup.

3-Are the tubes reproduced or do I need to find OE stuff?
Some of them are.

EDIT: apparently Inline Tube repros the dual breather tubes. Of course, if you have a spacer to clear the HEI, these will be too short.

4-Do I get the vacuum for the flapper actuator from the line that runs from the front of the carb to the vacuum advance?