New Oldsmobile Owner...

Search this Thread

Old November 3rd, 2018, 06:05 PM

New Oldsmobile Owner...

Please forgive me, I’m a new, 1st time Oldsmobile owner..... (Mopar Guy... don’t hate me)
so I just took position of my first Oldsmobile.
1970 Cutlass with a 455. My Uncle restored the car and has recently passed it to me.
this may be a really dumb question but I must ask it.....
The car is a Beautifully restored vehicle with a big block 455.... He did an awesome job on the car.
as I checked the oil level, it needed a quart.... there is a tall (what looks like an “Oil filler Tube” at the front of the
block.... and a oil cap one each valve cover..... Dumb question.... is there any reason why I can’t add oil at the valve cover cap locations as on most engines?…………
Thank you for your responses and feel free to laugh if needed...LOL

also, I’m new to this Chat stuff and this sight so if I placed this in the wrong spot or shouldn’t have started a new thread I’m still learning
Old November 3rd, 2018, 06:18 PM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by Hardheaded
Please forgive me, I’m a new, 1st time Oldsmobile owner..... (Mopar Guy... don’t hate me)
so I just took position of my first Oldsmobile.
1970 Cutlass with a 455. My Uncle restored the car and has recently passed it to me.
this may be a really dumb question but I must ask it.....
The car is a Beautifully restored vehicle with a big block 455.... He did an awesome job on the car.
as I checked the oil level, it needed a quart.... there is a tall (what looks like an “Oil filler Tube” at the front of the
block.... and a oil cap one each valve cover..... Dumb question.... is there any reason why I can’t add oil at the valve cover cap locations as on most engines?…………
Thank you for your responses and feel free to laugh if needed...LOL

also, I’m new to this Chat stuff and this sight so if I placed thisb in the wrong spot or shouldn’t have started a new thread I’m still learning