Carbs

Search this Thread

Old January 21st, 2011, 12:53 AM

Carbs

I am sure this question is asked a lot but bear with me, this is my first time building an engine (only 17) and my dad used to build high performance engines for Chevys (in the '70s)

So needless to say we are learning a lot before we go do this, but before I get to the question let me give you some back ground info here.

I have a '75 Cutlass Supreme that I am taking the 350 Smog Motor out of and putting in a fairly warmed over 455 (hoping to make around 400 hp), this car will be a daily driver, but its being built for some track action (my friends drive rice and I want to be able to show them what real cars can do).

So we got the 455, going to boar it .30 over, put a nice cam, performer 2151 intake, (not sure about heads yet, problem is that the 455 I have had different heads, its a '72 F block, but it has these dam J heads, I just can't get away from these smog heads...) so, if I can find around $2,000 in my sofa then I am going with the Alum heads, but I am looking for a good set of heads, these J heads are NOT going in the car.

Now I have head very mixed reviews with the Edlebrock Carb's and I was very surprised, so now I am looking at the Holley's, and a Remanufactured Quad

These are the two carb's I am looking at, please give me all the feedback you can:

http://www.holley.com/0-80870.asp - Holley Street Avenger 870 CFM

http://www.smicarburetor.com/product.../productID/841

If you have any other suggestions please also post them

Thanks,
Jim
Old January 21st, 2011, 02:10 AM

I personally would never daily drive with a Holley. I think they are too touchy. Now for a dedicated racer they are great due to the tunability of them.

I had an Edelbrock carb on a 455 15 years ago and I drove that thing every day for over 2 years sun, rain or snow (in Chicago), and lets just say I was not nice to it. I never had an issue with it.