Build Questions for a 455

Search this Thread

Old May 11th, 2011, 04:15 PM

Build Questions for a 455

Hey guys I'm new to the oldsmobile scene. I recently purchased a '72 cutlass s that had a chevy 350 in it. I took it out and I purchased a 455 out of a '69 delta 88, it came with the "c" heads I believe.

My question is what is the best way to get around 350-400 rwhp and still be streetable? Which cam, intake, carb, etc... would be the best route?

Thx, for your help.
Old May 11th, 2011, 04:18 PM

p.s. the motor is a complete motor and i'm looking to spend somewhere in the neighborhood of 2,000
Old May 11th, 2011, 04:40 PM

Originally Posted by allday
p.s. the motor is a complete motor and i'm looking to spend somewhere in the neighborhood of 2,000
I would believe that you are just a tad short of money for that build. I could be wrong. Maybe a tad tad short. Anyways, good luck!
Old May 11th, 2011, 04:42 PM

You'll need to make sure you're not throwing good money after bad, check the internals extensively first.
Then if they're o.k. stick in a cam in the 220@.050 range, good valve job, Performer, 750cfm or so carb, headers etc. You'll hit 350+ pretty easily, then go from there.
There are plenty of builds on here to use as a reference, you should have no problem. Just don't skimp on the necessary machine work if needed, it'll come back to bite you in the a..

Good luck!
Old May 11th, 2011, 05:26 PM